Song Drawings Pt. 3

IMG_2166

I’ve had a very interesting and busy and interesting two weeks with odd jobs and volunteering at a junior ranger camp at Fort Loudoun. For example… the above photo is a fire pit my mom wanted me to make using the rocks from the pre-existing fire pit nearby.

IMG_2164

Also there was a turtle.

IMG_2148 (Edited)

The ever majestic creature that is Chop Suey.

IMG_2187 (Edited)

Also helped stain a floor.

IMG_2143

And making a surprise appearance; a wild preparatory drawing.

I usually make sketches and doodle plans but for the past two song drawings I went at the paper with little to know visual planning. Which is fun but for this one I wanted more planning.

IMG_2155

First half of the drawing with pencil. White Oak, Ash, and Ivy leaves.

IMG_2156

Detail with more gestural mark making near the middle of the composition.

IMG_2189

More abstracted and geometric lines to contrast with the lower half of organic objects but also to coincide with the song to be revealed momentarily.

IMG_2190

More values.

IMG_2208

Still wet but very close to being finished. I used some leftover tea instead of water because I am productively lazy and will use whatever is closest to me.

The song is The Oak and the Ash and the version I looked at was about a woman in the north moving to London and the imagery I used is primarily from the line, The oak and the ash and the bonny ivy tree…(one version I found online was the bonny rowan tree).

Like many folk songs there are numerous versions and my drawings are only loosely based on the songs but I hope you enjoy all the same!

Thank you for reading.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

