Enjoy what you do

Some ornamental arabesque patterning, which I then erased a good portion of to create a faded, degrading effect. After this I realized the pencil lines left pattern in the undercoating of water color pigment. After putting so much line work and detail into a piece it is a weird feeling at times to erase parts of it, but I do believe it’s good practice to do so and not become too attached to work. While my work is important to me and incorporates a good deal of who I am, you should never be too afraid of losing work. This helps with criticism and eventually selling or sending work off to a gallery or exhibition. Loving your work is important, love what you do and what you create but also try and learn when it’s time to let go.

IMG_1677

Along with loving your work and art, know when to have fun with it too. In order to get through projects and the ever reared head of impending doom, anxiety, and stress from workloads, wondering where life is going during college, I often found myself taking time to do something completely different from the work at hand. It doesn’t take much for me to burn out on a project, especially if it involves making the same sort of piece constantly over an entire semester. In photography classes I’d break away from Afterlife photographs and make landscapes, in drawing and painting I switch between ridiculously detailed and emotive, frenzied abstraction. Out of college, thankfully, this isn’t the case as much as it used to. But I still try and mix things up and do something completely different like the painting above. Eventually I would like to work on Old Master Technique paintings again and I’ve been looking at the work of J.M.W. Turner quite a bit lately. This was my attempt at focusing on a landscape with a strong, atmospheric light source. It’s all oil paint on gessoed paper.

IMG_1709

In this piece I’ve decided to go back to architectural elements and higher levels of detail. I also want the detail to stay in this one so I’ve been using Micron pens which are waterproof and archival instead of the Pilot pens.

IMG_1710

Slightly more finished this time. After this I scribbled in some water color pencil which doesn’t show up in the picture well but comes out once water is added. Once the water is dry I’m planning to bring out more of the details that may have become muddy and add more wispy line-work.

IMG_1712

Detail of a new one done on canvas paper. One piece I did earlier in the week on canvas paper turned out quite lovely but drawing into it with the Pilot pens was a pain since they kept gouging into the gesso and not leaving ink. Hopefully the Microns will work better. Preparing for this one I did a starting layer of india ink with water left overnight, then I scribbled over the surface with different colors of water color pencil, and now here we see the effects of water pooling on the surface and letting the pigments swirl together. I’m enjoying the perspective on this one, however, it started getting somewhat rainbow looking which isn’t bad but I tend to gravitate toward more neutral and earth tones. We’ll see where it goes once line work is added. Not sure if I’ll keep it as a landscape or add something architectural again.

IMG_1713

I’m loving the effect on this one and how the ink reacts to the water. Hopefully the paper isn’t too thin and I can keep working with it. May keep this one abstract and have less realistic and recognizable imagery.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post and my work, thank you for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

